22 Answers to creationists.

Today I saw on the internet a really sad article. Said article showed 22 potos of 22 people who are self-proclamed creationists posing questions to “believers” in evolution.

I know that these people are not going to read this post  but somehow I feel compeled to answer this unbelievable questions that hurt me deep in my soul. What I´m going to write is intended to be the answer I would give to each an everyone of them if they asked me the question.

You can read the article here to see the faces of this people asking what one would think nobody would ever ask and after that, cry a little. Anyway I will write each question before its corresponding answer to make things easier. Let´s start:

1. Are you influencing the minds of children in a positive way?

Sorry, what? In a positive way? What does it mean “in a positive way”? I don´t think teaching knowledge about nature has any effect on the future morality of children if that´s what you mean. In any case showing people -children- scientific knowledge is, of course, positive. Do you really think that teaching evolution is going to make them bad people in the future or something like that? Man, you are mixing thinks together that have no correlation at all.

2. Are you scared of a Divine Creator?

Scared? Why? Why should I? Why should anybody? I mean, if I were an atheist (fyi: I´m not) would be logical that I were not scared of something that I believe it doesn´t exist, but even more important, as a believer I´m not scared at all of God. The God in which I believe is not scary at all. In what kind of God do you believe? The idea of God as an angry old man sending plagues and catastrophes was cancelled around 2000 years ago.

But another important point is this (stupid)  idea that “believers” in evolution are necessarily against God. Guys, you creationists are even a minority among religious groups. Nearly every major religion in the world has no conflict with the theory of evolution. Yeah, perhaps Catholic Church had it… like 150 years ago. I guess you should update a little bit.

3. Is it completely illogical that the Earth was created mature? i.e.: trees created with rings, Adam created as an adult… 

YES, it is COMPLETELY ILOGICAL. There is no other answer. It is. It is totally nonsense. One doesn´t need to go to complex scientific explanations. Everyday life has thousands of examples that proof that the logical thing is exactly the opposite.

4. Does not the second law of thermodynamics disprove evolution?

No, man, it does not. That´s what happens when people speak about things that they think they know but they really don´t know. Probably you have heard this thing that entropy is equal to disorder and is always growing and you have concluded that evolution is contradictory with this principle because evolution would increase order instead of disorder. The problem is that, firstly, “order” and “disorder” in this context is not exactly the same as in everyday life, and secondly, what the second principle states is that the TOTAL entropy is growing, so the apparent increase in order of evolved estructures comes at the expense of an increase in disorder in the rest of the universe, therefore making the TOTAL entropy to grow.

5. How do you explain a sunset if their(sic) is no God?

Emm. Honestly I don´t know how to answer this. Even as a believer I think that the explanation is pretty obvious… but again, who is saying that there is no God? Only because we don´t think that what is written in the Bible should be taken literaly means that we don´t believe in God?

6. If the big bang theory is true and taught as science along with evolution, why do the laws of thermodynamics debunk said theories?

Man, this is painful. I wonder were have you read or heard that laws of thermodynamics debunk evolution and big bang theory (WTF??), but what I see is that you have no idea about thermodynamics either. Big bang theory is built with thermodynamics laws in mind, I can assure you. As for evolution, read answer 4.

7. What about Noetics?

I don´t know, what about them?

8. Where do you derive objetive meaning in life?

I´m not sure of understanding correctly this question. If you are asking about the purpose of life I can tell you that you don´t need to derive it anywhere. Many people can live thinking that there is no higher purpose in this life, beyond this world. I disagree, but at the same time I have to cope with the possibility that they are right. On the other hand there are people, like me, that believe in something beyond this world. But whether you belong to the first group or you belong to the second one, evolution has absolutely nothing to say in favor or against the meaning of life.

9. If God didn´t create everything how did the first single-celled organism originate? By chance?

I see this question kind of different from the rest because somehow you are admiting evolution. You are saying that there was a first single-celled organism. But again, you are mixing things. I believe that God created everything, it´s just I don´t think he did it by shooting blasts from his hands while sitting in his throne in the space. Regarding to the first cell, although as christian I believe that God is somehow in everything that happens in this world I have to accept the possibility that, yes, it were originated by chance (that is, because it´s only a belief, not a fact).

10. I believe in the big bang theory…God said it and BANG it happened!

Yeah I don´t think it happened exactly like that, but mostly I agree with this. Does evolution say anything against this?

11. Why do evolutionists/secularists/humanists/non-God believing people reject the idea of their being a creator God but embrace the concept of intelligent design from aliens or other extraterrestrial sources?

Ehhhh…what?? As far as I know intelligent design is directly connected to creationism and I don´t think any evolutionist believe in “extraterrestrial sources”.

12. There is no inbetween… the only one found was Lucy and there are only a few pieces of the hundreds necessary for an “oficial proof”

Not sure of what you are saying here. I have not enough information to provide you with data or details, but I´m pretty sure that there many more proofs of evolution than Lucy…

13. Does metamorphosis help support evolution?

I don´t know, does it help to disprove it?

14. If evolution is a theory (like creationism or the Bible) why is then evolution thought as fact?

Ugh, man.  I don´t know what you think a theory is but I can assure that creationism is not a theory (and Bible isn´t a theory either, it´s a book, maybe you didn´t notice) I won´t waste time explaining what a theory really is, I´ll just make things easier saying simply that evolution is considered a fact because it is proved. Just like that. You can see with your very eyes how species evolve through scientific evidences. Denying it is as if you take a bottle of milk from the fridge, you open it, you see it´s white, you drink it and tastes like milk and somebody says: “maybe somebody opened the bottle and put a white liquid that tastes like milk but it´s not really milk…”

15. Because science by definition is a “theory” -not testable, observable, nor repeatable-  why do you object to creationism or intellingent design being taught in school?

This is by far the best one. I´m not even gonna joke because this shows such a big level of ignorance that deserves a serious answer. First, science is not “by definition a theory”. Not at all. Science is a discipline that works with theories. Second, -not testable, observable, nor repeatable- is exactly what creationism and intelligent design are. Science, on the other hand, and this time truly by definition MUST BE -testable, observable and repeatable- otherwise it is not truly science. So in schools only testable, observable and repeatable things must be taught, that´s why science is taught and creationism is not.

16. What mechanism has science discovered that evidences an increase of genetic information seen in any genetic mutation or evolutionary process?

I´m not a genetist but I´m pretty sure that one would show you hundreds of examples.

17. What purpose do you think you are here for if you don´t believe in salvation?

Well, can´t answer that because I do believe in salvation but as I have said before people can find many things to give meaning to their lives in this world. The problem again is that it seems you are assuming that evolutionism is against religion which is not true. Evolutionism is against creationism. As I said before, most of religious people in the world are not even creationists.

18. Why have we found only one “Lucy” when he have found  more than one of everything else?

I don´t see how this is something that can disprove evolution…

19. Can you believe in the big bang without faith?

What kind of faith do you mean? Faith in God? yes, you can “believe” in the big bang without faith in God. But more important is that you can also “believe” in the big bang and in God at the same time.

20. How can you look at the world and not believe that someone created/thought of it? It´s amazing!

Well, thinks can be pretty amazing just by chance. Anyway I mostly answered that, check for example question 17

21. Relating to the big bang theory…  where did the exploding star come from?

(Facepalm) You see? that´s why creationism shouldn´t be taught in schools. You end up knowing nothing about things like the big bang theory, for example. Read a book about that and ask me then. Nevertheless, I can advance you that “the star” could come just from nothing. Personally I hope not, but it simply can be like that.

22. If we come from monkeys why are there still monkeys?

Trying to avoid jokes I will say that we don´t “come” from monkeys. We share a common ancestor

~ por ultronilimitado en febrero 6, 2014.

Responder

 
